108796 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

LVM, Multipath, and ServiceGuard

SOLVED
Go to solution
David G. Douthitt
Regular Advisor

LVM, Multipath, and ServiceGuard

I'm trying to multipath a LVM volume on HP-UX 11i v3 with ServiceGuard. The disks are on an EMC array, and there are two links to the disk on each of two ServiceGuard cluster nodes.

One (data) disk is currently configured with logical volumes and so forth. Attempting to use vgextend to add a second path results in:

# vgextend -g pvg1 /dev/clvol2 dev/dsk/c6t0d1
Verification of unique LVM disk id on each disk in the volume group /dev/clvol2 failed.
Following are the sets of disks having identical LVM disk id
/dev/dsk/c7t0d1 /dev/dsk/c6t0d1

What am I missing? The initial vgcreate did not have a -g option (that was before I knew about that option). I created /etc/lvmpvg
with the appropriate disk in it, but the message above is what results.

I don't know scsimgr, and I'm still learning ServiceGuard. What am I missing here?

Now in research, I've discovered that the v2 documentation claimed scsimgr is deprecated (!?).

There are some docs that appear to say that multipathing is handled automagically by the native multipathing in 11i v3. It appears that v3 has a *lot* of changes in it from v2.

What am I missing here? Thanks for the help!
11 REPLIES 11
Sandman!
Honored Contributor

Re: LVM, Multipath, and ServiceGuard

Imho it might be trivial as having the correct VG name. Is the VG "/dev/clvol2"? Is that correct? Please list the contents of the /etc/lvmpvg file viz.,

# cat /etc/lvmpvg
David G. Douthitt
Regular Advisor

This is /etc/lvmpvg (created by hand):

VG /dev/clvol2
PVG pvg0
/dev/dsk/c7t0d1

The disks presented by the EMC SAN were put into separate volume groups: clvol1, clvol2, clvol3 (CLuster VOLume).
Mridul Shrivastava
Honored Contributor

What I understood is that, following set of disk refers to the same physical disk:

Am I correct ?