Operating System - HP-UX
1751894 Members
5319 Online
108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Moving disks: What do I do with /etc/lvmpvg?

Stuart Abramson
Trusted Contributor

Moving disks: What do I do with /etc/lvmpvg?

We're moving our data center. New SAN. "cX" numbers will change on EMC physical volumes.

We're preparing vgexport -s /vgimport -s scritps, saving mapfiles and minor numbers, etc. We're going to vgexport on shutdown and vgimport on startup.

I just discovered that we have several servers with /etc/lvmpvg files, which I have never used before.

So what do we do?:

Shutdown:
1...vgexport volumes.
2...shutdown

Reboot in new location.
1...rediscover volumes.
2...verify new "cX" numbers.
3...create new /etc/lvmpvg with new "cX" numbers.
4...vgimport vgs.

Will that do it?

Is there some easier way?
5 REPLIES 5
Barry Sollitt
Advisor

Stuart,

Run the import first, then create the lvmpvg file.

You may want to find out what the PVGs are used for on your server, for example I only use this file when I have a disk array.

I create a PVG for each bank of drives to ensure that my lvols are mirrored over both controllers.

However, you will be able to import everything the way it was with or without this file, recreate it afterwards of course but it may not be important at all.

Unfortunately there is no easier way, the steps you have outlined are the only way to get across a change of disk device files.
"I'm the Man"
Stuart Abramson
Trusted Contributor

Barry:

1. You say run the vgimport first and then create the /etc/lvmpvg file.

..But the /etc/lvmpvg file already exists. Should I copy it aside, vgimport and then recreate it?

2. You say I should be able to vgimport even without the /etc/lvmpvg file.

..If I can do without it, why don't I just forget it completely? move it aside, vgimport it and then just forget about it?

What good does it do anyway?
Thomas Kaufhold
Occasional Advisor

Hi Stuart!

You should check what /etc/lvmpvg is used for.
Check