Operating System - HP-UX
1753361 Members
5814 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

RAID 4Si Striped and Mirrored 0+1 or HP MIRRORDISK/UX best read performance config

Rod White
Frequent Advisor

RAID 4Si Striped and Mirrored 0+1 or HP MIRRORDISK/UX best read performance config

Hello to the disk config Gurus.

I have two 4Si Cards (A5856A) each with 4 channels and two HP Arrays each containing two buses with 7 disks per bus.

Summary

Controllers 2
Channels 4 in use (4 not used)
Disks 28 across 4 channels (7 per channel).

HP MirrorDisk/UX

My application is an Oracle DB. Historically I've been running RAID 0 striping across a 9 disk JBOD which has been giving satisfactorily high application performance though with no redundancy. I'm a HP sysadmin and Oracle DBA so I'm aware of filesystem cache issues, striping and tablespace segregation and distribution across disks/channels/controllers.

My purchase of the new RAID controllers and hot swap arrays is to resolve the significant impact of downtime by adding redundancy.

I want to maintain the level of read and write transaction performance and controller/disk resources are not an issue so I've decided to avoid the overhead of the RAID 3 / RAID 5 parity checking and hence have resolved to go RAID (0 + 1).

The question is, how to best achieve this with the hardware controllers and hp mirrordisk/UX ?

The criteria are READ PERFORMANCE and MANAGEMENT (failed disk replacement/rebuilds).

At the moment, failed disks require a shutdown and physical replacement (not hot swap) and then a restore from tape, typically a day downtime. A slower system for an hour or two while a disk or LV is rebuilt is a vast improvement for me.

Using the simple case of creating one large filesystem which is mirrored (I can then use the same principle to create mirrored/striped filesystems for indices,data etc).

Would it be best to

A) Large hardware RAID 0 arrays, MirrorDisk/UX