1748105 Members
4891 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

SAM in single user mode

Phillip Popp
Regular Advisor

SAM in single user mode

I am new to UNIX ADMIN, so please bear with me. How do I boot into single user mode. Once in that mode can I use SAM? I need to shrink my /var and /opt logical volume's, and put that space back into my / logical volume. I am fairly comfortable using sam for this but not doing it by hand. If SAM will not operate in single user mode, what are the commands to unmount the logical volumes and then recreate them with a new size.

Thanks, for all your help in advance. This site is great!!

Phil
14 REPLIES 14
Yang Qin_1
Honored Contributor

Re: SAM in single user mode

To shrink you /var and /opt you do not need sam. However, keep it in mind that to shrinl your filesystem you may loos the data

boot to single user mode:
Logon to the console to reboot your server as root.

cd /
/sbin/shutdown -ry 0

interrupt autoboot by press any key. type

bo pri

reply Y for ISL. Under ISL prompt type

hpux -is

at promt "#" type

mount /usr

then you can run lvreduce, lvextend ...

read mapage for lvreduce, lvextend before you start

man lvreduce

Yang
Victor BERRIDGE
Honored Contributor

Hi Phillip,
Im afraid you will not be able to use SAM for what you wish to do, for SAM uses /var...

Now do a:
swlist -l product|grep OnlineJFS

And tell us if you have the product, because if you do, there is no need to go single user...

All the best
Victor
Pete Randall
Outstanding Contributor

Phil,