Operating System - HP-UX
1753609 Members
6157 Online
108797 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

mirroring a lvol ... where how does it know where to place the mirror copy?

Tim Killinger
Regular Advisor

mirroring a lvol ... where how does it know where to place the mirror copy?

I'm new to MirrorDisk/UX.... does anyone know where there is a MirrorDisk/UX concepts/admin guide? Specifically, I'm trying to understand how

lvcreate -m 1 -L 800 -n lvomniback /dev/vg00

knows which pv to mirror to, since none is specified here. Where is the physical relationship estahblished between the "mirroree" and the "mirror"? How dooes it know?

Thanks!
6 REPLIES 6
John Poff
Honored Contributor

Re: mirroring a lvol ... where how does it know where to place the mirror copy?

Hi,

You can pass the PV name as an argument to the lvextend command to specify which PV to use. Normally we just do the lvcreate, and then do the lvextend -m ... PV to specify which PV we want the mirror to go to.

JP
Michael Steele_2
Honored Contributor

Mirroring follows these steps:

vgextend /dev/vg## /dev/dsk/cXtYdZ

lvcreate -L ### -n "lvolname" /dev/vg##

lvextend -m 1 /dev/vg## /dev/dsk/cXtYdZ

Its good to use the same SCSI targets when mirroring. So c1t4do should mirror to cXt4d0.

Use 'pvdisplay -v' to see what lvols reside upon a pv.

pvdisplay -v /dev/dsk/cXtYdZ
Support Fatherhood - Stop Family Law
Marco Santerre
Honored Contributor

As mentionned already, you can specify the disk that you wanna use for your mirror copy, but if you don't specify a disk, it will take any disk that will correspond to the strict allocation policy.
Cooperation is doing with a smile what you have to do anyhow.
James R. Ferguson
Acclaimed Contributor

Hi:

Mirror placement is constrained by the 'strict' and 'contiguous' allocation policies the logical volume as established by 'lvcreate' and/or modified by 'lvchange'.

See the man pages for 'lvcreate', 'lvextend' and 'lvchange' for more information.

Regards!

...JRF...