New Discussion юеВ

AIX to HPUX porting

SOLVED
Go to solution
Gopal_2
Advisor

AIX to HPUX porting

Hi Guys

I have a huge porting job to do with a very small time frame. I have purchased the aCC compiler to run on HPUX 11.0. The C compiler I have came with HPUX11.0. As I started to port I am starting to get a lot of compatibility issues. Do I have to get any special C compiler for the job. I thought the C compiler that tags along with the OS is ANSI compliant. Can you guys help me with some resource or help on porting between the platforms or extra pointers that I may need. I am very new to HP and that is making things even more worse.

Thanks in advance for the help

Gopal
Senior Engineer
23 REPLIES 23
Brian Hackley
Honored Contributor

Re: AIX to HPUX porting

Gopal,

I've referred many questions just like yours to the HP Developer's Resource website. It contains useful, well-organized tips and forums that might actually help you with your Porting challenges:
http://devrsrc.external.hp.com/devresource/Docs/DocLibrary.html

Check it out!

-> Brian Hackley
Ask me about telecommuting!
Gopal_2
Advisor

Thanks Brian,

I went to those resource sites before but the compatibilities that I am facing may be because I may be really be stuck in something really basic. My code was written much on POSIX standards so as to easily port hence when I migrated I got a lot of discrepancies on the compilation. Is there anything I need to check wether I am running an ANSI based C compiler as I presume that the aCC uses a lot of C libraries I guess. I dont see a lot of structs or even some basic structures look completly different. As I told you I am pretty new in HP and it is all appearing Green to me. Any direction for some closure between the 2 platforms could really help.

Thanks again

Gopal
Senior Engineer
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor

Gopal,