8944 Online
108810 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: CC and GCC +z Option ?????

Michael Gretton
Frequent Advisor

CC and GCC +z Option ?????

Hi:

I am have been working on a project that requires me to recompile perl for my HP-UX 11.00 environment (using an NClass). I am NOT a programmer and need a bit of help. I am told that I must compile perl using the +z option if I were to us e an ANSI C compiler. I do not have a comercial ansi c compiler such as softbench's. I do have GCC. What does the stupid +z do and what is the equiv for GCC where can I find out more about this. I hope I don't have to buy an ansi c compiler. Any Help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Mike
7 REPLIES 7
John Poff
Honored Contributor

Hello,

I haven't compiled Perl with gcc before, but the make and configure scripts that come with Perl are very good. I suggest that you download the latest stable Perl source and run the configure script. It should detect that you are running gcc and setup the Perl makefile accordingly. If it runs into problems it will tell you, and you can investigate it from there.

JP
Michael Gretton
Frequent Advisor

John:

Thanks for the advice but that I have done that. The stable perl that is out there is great and all but I need to specifically add the +z option so I am told. In summary, I need to get this perl built so that it works with Apache, DBI/DBD and mod_perl. I was specifically told that Perl has to built a certain way...including using this +z option. The problem is that the instructions I have on how to build perl for what I am doing only refers to cc.

Mike
John Poff
Honored Contributor

Michael,