1752272 Members
5235 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Conversion of RMB files from binary format to ASCII format

Marco Bauer

Conversion of RMB files from binary format to ASCII format

Hello,

I have a problem with HP-UX / RMB. I'm relatively new to this subject area, so that I don't have much experience, yet. We have a HP workstation 725/100 that is running HP-UX 10.20 as OS. On this machine we are using Rocky Mountain Basic (RMB) programs to control
a productional silicon wafer test system.
These RMB programs have grown over the past 15 years or so to a huge complex of hundreds of files that many of them have dependencies between them.
As the people that have originally written this programs are no longer in the company, it is now my task to get an overview of the programs and their structure and dependencies
in order to bring them into a state so that it
will be possible to understand what they are doing and porting them to more modern environments, e. g. Linux with current PC hardware.

I would like to browse the RMB program files and their contents with a Windows browser and an editor for being able to change quickly between many files and directories. I therefore
have copied the folder structure containing the
RMB programs from the workstation to my PC over the network connection.

The problem now is that most of the RMB program
files are stored in binary file format (HFSLIF)
rather than in readyble ASCII file format. That means it is only possible to open them and have a look what is inside by using RMB on the workstation. (I have as well HTBasic for
Windows from Transera installed on my PC but that software isn't able to open program files in binary format).
A solution would be to open the program files with the RMB program on the workstation as said and save them again in ASCII file format.
But I don't want to do this for hundreds of files individually !