6342 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Please explain

Alok_Behria
Advisor

Please explain

Hi All,

I have got the following shell script, which I have managed to found , while googled. let me explain you about the script, this script actually search for the alert.log  file,  which contains the critical database errors and mail across the errors, if contains the string matching "ORA-" .The following script does serve the purpose for me, but since I am new to the shell scripting, I was struggling to grab it. I have commebted out , where I require the explannation from you people. Please go throught and explain, that would be really apprciated.

#!/bin/bash
ALERT_LOG=/db/$ORACLE_SID/oracle/admin/$ORACLE_SID/bdump/alert_$ORACLE_SID.log
MAXSIZE=1000000   ## please explain
LINES_KEPT=1000   ## please explain
if [ -f $ALERT_LOG.prev ] ; then # just wondering, how can we use this, since we did not declare this.
   PREVSIZE=`ls -l $ALERT_LOG.prev | awk '{print $5}'` # please explain
   dd if=$ALERT_LOG of=/tmp/alert.log bs=$PREVSIZE skip=1 # please explain
   CHECKFILE=/tmp/alert.log
else
   PREVSIZE=0
   CHECKFILE=$ALERT_LOG
fi
if [ "`grep 'ORA-' $CHECKFILE`" ] ; then
       mailx -s  "Alerr log has errors" abc@xyz.com > $CHECKFILE
else
:
fi
if [ $PREVSIZE -gt $MAXSIZE ] ; then # please explain
  tail -$LINES_KEPT $ALERT_LOG > $ALERT_LOG.new # please explain
  mv $ALERT_LOG.new $ALERT_LOG
fi
cp $ALERT_LOG $ALERT_LOG.prev

4 REPLIES 4
James R. Ferguson
Acclaimed Contributor

Hi:

First, never be afraid to consult the manpages for help in understanding what a particular command does (in general or specifically with the options you see deployed).

As a beginning guide to shell scripting, I always recommend this :

There is a PDF version of the Shell Users Guide there too:

http://web.archive.org/web/20081231081339/http://docs.hp.com/en/hpux10.x.html

Whatever you do, avoid the C-shell.