Operating System - OpenVMS
1752778 Members
6087 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: UNIX to OpenVMS Script translation

Andre de Wolf MVSS

UNIX to OpenVMS Script translation

I've been given the attached UNIX script to translate to OpenVMS. I'm not very good with my unix command line so is there a tool available to more easy translate a unix script to VMS?
8 REPLIES 8
labadie_1
Honored Contributor

Hi

May be you could explain in pseudo-code what this script should do, as sed, syslog, armdsp, model or trace event do not have strict equivalence in OpenVMS (even if sed has been ported).
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

> [...] the attached UNIX script [...]

".rtf"? Did this script begin on a Windows
system, or was that your idea?

> [...] sed, syslog, armdsp, model or trace
> event do not have strict equivalence in
> OpenVMS [...]

At least. Also "/usr/sbin/ioscan",
"/usr/sbin/cmviewcl", and a host of others.
Define "translate to OpenVMS". What are you
actually trying to do?

> [...] is there a tool available [...]

No.
labadie_1
Honored Contributor

Steven

The VMS equivalent of
/usr/sbin/ioscan
is
$ mc sysman io auto

if memory serves me.

Hoff
Honored Contributor

This looks to be an under-commented and under-documented shell script (and probably using bash, though unfortunately lacking the hashbang) for HP Integrity servers and PA-RISC servers running HP-UX, and some sort of distributed web-based management of those servers.

This script provides a primitive web-based front end for an application that processes the network configuration and the hardware configuration, as well as looking at the server logs in some detail.

From what I see of it, it'll be a complete rewrite.

Most everything that this script is doing is specific to Unix, and a whole lot of what I see here is specific to HP-UX on PA-RISC and Integrity servers.