1752762 Members
4787 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Unable to load "libu2comp.so"

MissX
Advisor

Unable to load "libu2comp.so"

Hello, I would like to compile one of my program, however it generate the error such as:

ld: Unable to load shared library "/opt/langtools/lib/hpux64/libu2comp.so"
Fatal error.
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

It seems that my HP-UX 11v3 Itanium server does not have the Auxiliary-Opt.LANG-AUX installed in it which consist of the libu2comp.so (I use find / -name libu2comp.so -print to locate whether I have the library).  But I manage to find the libu2comp.so in my other application disc. I'm sorry if my question sound weird since I'm still new in installing stuff in HP-UX server. My question is:

1) How am I suppose to install the Auxiliary-Opt.LANG-AUX onto my server?

2) Is it possible to just drag and drop the required library from the disc onto the HP-UX for me to compile the program successfully (since I didn't found any depot file for it)? 

Thank you.

9 REPLIES 9
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Re: Unable to load "libu2comp.so"

1.) Auxiliary-Opt.LANG-AUX is part of the HP-UX aC++ compiler package, which is optional and not free: if you have a license to use it, you could install the compiler from a .depot file downloadable from HP (license required) or from your HP-UX application DVD media, using the swinstall command.

(On the HP-UX installation and application DVDs, the depots are stored in a different format: not as single .depot files, but as "directory depots".)

If your system is supposed to have the aC++ compiler installed, your installation may have become damaged; consider using the swverify command to determine the extent of damage, then restoring from backups or reinstalling the compiler (and its patches) using swinstall.

Apparently libu2comp.so is a library related to /opt/langtools/lbin/u2comp, which seems to be the optimized code generator for the compiler, so...