Operating System - Linux
1751972 Members
4755 Online
108784 Solutions
New Discussion

a library in C that support DES decrypt (cryptography functions)

SOLVED
Go to solution
Adisuria Wangsadinata_1
Honored Contributor

a library in C that support DES decrypt (cryptography functions)

Hi Folks,

Good day to you !
I'm a newbie on C language and I've got a project with C language.

Here is the background of the problem :

The project requirement stated that files to be FTP-ed must be encrypted. From .net (windows environment), we’ll be encrypting using System.Security.Cryptography before sending the file through FTP. On HP-UX side, we need the C program to decrypt this file.

We couldn’t find a library in C that supports cryptography. We did come across several customized library, but they’re not open source. So, could you advice if we have any library in C for cryptography functions?

The plan is to use a symmetric algorithms that’s supported by .net API, namely DES, Triple DES, RC2 or Rijndael.

However, since we’re new to this, we’re open to suggestion.

Please kindly advise.

Regards,
AW

now working, next not working ... that's unix
7 REPLIES 7
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

Re: a library in C that support DES decrypt (cryptography functions)

Rather than settle on a plan for which
software is available at only one end, I'd
look at encryption systems which might work
at both ends, and see if any of those is
suitable. Perhaps:

http://gnupg.org/

It should satisfy the "open source"
requirement, if nothing else.
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

How about OpenSSL?
It is available to HP-UX for free from software.hp.com, and widely used in many software projects.

http://www.openssl.org/

Despite the name, it allows you to use its encryption/decryption/digest algorithms for any data, not just SSL connections. It supports at least DES, Triple-DES and RC2; current versions support Rijndael (AES) too.