108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: u_toupper_3_2 and u_tolower_3_2

SOLVED
Go to solution
reb
Occasional Advisor

u_toupper_3_2 and u_tolower_3_2

I'm trying to compile a perl module using aCC on HPUX 11.23 IA64, and using the HP-installed 32-bit perl 5.8.3. (The module is ARS 1.90).

I'm pretty new to Itanium, so there's a good chance that the problem is with me.

The module compiles with -Ae, with some warnings about using negative numbers in an unsigned int variable (hey - not my code...), but then refuses to load with undefined externals. I originally got errors on three routines:

'__cxa_personality_routine'
'u_toupper_3_2'
'u_tolower_3_2'

I was able to fix the "__cxa_personality_routine" error by adding '-lCsup' into the libraries variable in the makefile. The other two, I can not seem to fix. I have tried all of the following:

-lstd -lstream -lCsup -lm -lcl -ldld -lnsl -lnsl_s -lntl

(just sort of grasping at straws from other successful compiles and suggestions in other forum entries).

Does anyone know where to locate these two routines, or am I missing something more elementary than providing a path to a missing library?
6 REPLIES 6
TY 007
Honored Contributor
Solution

Hello,

>> the HP-installed 32-bit perl 5.8.3

Download & Install Latest HP Perl 5.8.8:
https://h20293.www2.hp.com/portal/swdepot/try.do?productNumber=PERL

Thanks
TY 007
Honored Contributor

Hello,

>> using aCC on HPUX 11.23 IA64

aCC version + patches?

# swlist -l bundle >> swlist.txt
# swlist -l product >> swlist.txt

Post swlist.txt file

Thanks
Dennis Handly
Acclaimed Contributor

I don't know about your "u_toupper*" unsats but these aren't HP-UX symbols.

If you need to search you can do:
$ nm -pxAN /usr/lib/hpux32/* path... | grep u_toupper_3_

>I was able to fix the __cxa_personality_routine error by adding -lCsup into the libraries variable in the makefile. I have tried all of the following:
-lstd -lstream -lCsup -lm -lcl -ldld

This is incorrect for IPF. It looks like PA.