Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configuration problem with HP MSM710 - AP Unconfigurable

Highlighted
fblanay
Frequent Visitor

Configuration problem with HP MSM710 - AP Unconfigurable

Hello

I am new to controller configuration and I am experiencing a problem a I cannot solve:

I installed a new MSM710 controller on my LAN and I am trying to connect the first 2 MSM430 access points. Both of them are correctly detected by the controller. However, on the Configured APs screen, I systematically see for both access points as  "Unconfigurable".

I read that this problem is supposed to occur when the maximum number of APs is reached. It is not my case as I only have so far 2 APs connected to the controller.

Can somebody help me ?

Many thanks.

Federico

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
parnassus
Honored Contributor

Re: Configuration problem with HP MSM710 - AP Unconfigurable

Did you started to work with MSM710 Access Controller and MSM430 Wireless APs both set to a factory default state?

By default, as you noticed, the MSM710 supports (up to) 10 APs, this is its non extensible APs capacity...and that limit can't be removed or deactivated...so what you're reporting is pretty strange.

Was the APs Provisioning parameter already enabled (check Controller -> Controlled APs -> Provisioning)?

What are the respective software versions involved (MSM710 and MSM430)?

How many configured APs does the MSM710 Access Controller show?

What the Controller -> Maintenace -> License page reports (in terms of Supported authenticated APs with a Permanent expiration)? it should be 10 and Expiration should be "Permanent" (no expiration date).

Highlighted
fblanay
Frequent Visitor

Hi

Thank you for your answer.

Yes I started both controller and AP set to factory default state. I had then to change IP address for both in order to match with my LAN. 

The APs Provisionon parameter was not enabled. I enabled it and restart the APs, but the result is the same: "unconfigurable"