4702 Online
108784 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: MSM 760 upgrade help

Chaamaa
Occasional Advisor

MSM 760 upgrade help

Hi,

I have newly bought WLC and production WLC. Both are MSM760. Production WLC has firmware version 5.3 and new WLC upgraded to 6.4.

my plan is to team both of WLCs. So I will download a backup from production and install on new WLC.

Then poweroff old WLC and plug in new WLC with production configurations.

change the LAN IP on old WLC

configure Team on both of WLCs

connect to LAN

check teaming status.

Please advise will this plan work since this is my first time with HP WLCs. If I need to revert back WLC Firmware, how can I do that?

Is there any specific steps during upgrade and teaming?

thank you

Kind regards

C

4 REPLIES 4
Chaamaa
Occasional Advisor

At least can I know How to downgrade the firmware on MSM 760 please?

thank you

Kind regards

C

Arimo
Respected Contributor

There's a huge difference between 5.3 and 6.4, so I don't think a straight-forward configuration upload will work without problems. I would not downgrade either - 5.3 won't support new APs.

Here's how to get this done:

1. Boot up the new controller, provide it appropriate LAN and Internet port IP addresses, and Default route
-> the default route should point to LAN or Internet port IP range rather than a VLAN

2. Copy the old controller's configuration manually to new controller

3. Enable teaming on new controller, and configure it to be the manager

4. Restore old controller to factory default settings

5. Provide old controller appropriate LAN and Internet port IP addresses, and same Default route as new controller

6. Enable teaming on old controller

This way the new controller will become team manager. Once old controller connects, the manager will first force a FW upgrade, and once that's done it will re-configure the member, and the team will form.