1748213 Members
3041 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSM710 & MSM410 Odd behaviour

Olivarrr

MSM710 & MSM410 Odd behaviour

Hi Guys,

I'm relatively new to all of this, and we had a contractor install our wireless a few months back.

The problem we're having is devices being unable to connect to the wireless. It will see the SSID in the list, and connects at irregular intervals, then cuts out. I can be right next to an AP and it does exactly the same, so it can't be the signal.

I am receieving multiple error messages in the MSM710 web interface, looking something along the lines of this:

Station Table Entry (id='0',ip-address='192.168.1.1',mac-address='00:1B:2F:D6:00:F2',virtual-ap-index='1') exists with the IP address claimed by the new station (mac-address='00:1B:2F:D7:A1:AC'), for security reason we're terminating both station access.

And I have NO idea what this means, and can't find any help on the internet referring to it. All the AP's have reservations in AD, and to me the error message sounds like some form of IP conflict. Also, the error message changes the IP and MAC in the error about every 10 seconds

Any help would be much appreciated, and this probably isnt the most coherent post on here, so I apologise!!

Thanks very much

P.S. This thread has been moved from Communications, Wireless (Legacy ITRC forum) to MSM Series. -HP Forum Moderator

7 REPLIES 7
Olivarrr

Whoops, not AD, I mean DHCP!
Shadow13
Respected Contributor

Can you tell me is all the network in 1 vlan only ?

this MAC address is for a station or an AP ?
Olivarrr

The network is on 1 VLAN, but 2 VSC's - dont know if that makes any difference.

And I can't find the mac address anywhere, and it seems to change every 10 seconds on the error message to a different one

Very odd!
Shadow13
Respected Contributor

mmm there might be a loop in the network.
double check and see.
Olivarrr

Sound like a bit of a n00b here, but what is the best/easiest way to check for a loop??