108807 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSM720 remote access points

johanoosterwaal
Occasional Visitor

MSM720 remote access points

Hello,

i'm completely new with HP Wirless Controller and i would like to know if

the MSM720 could support access points on a remote site.

i know with Cisco it's calles HREAP or Flexconnect but with HP.....

Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3
johnk3r
Respected Contributor

Yes !

If communication between these networks is entirely possible. A look on the Provisioning feature.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTRfds6hAFo

ATP FLEXNETWORK V3 | ACSA
johanoosterwaal
Occasional Visitor

Oke Thanks!.

i have one other question and that is with provisioning what will happen to the AP's

that are connected via layer 2 (same subnet as controller) when i turn on this option?

Michal Dole├Е┬╛al
Frequent Advisor

To first question. Sure Yes you can. First case you will establish Site-to-Site VPN and in this case you have normal L3 provisioning. But it is possible also to connect APs directly without VPN to controller but you need a lot of ports opened on the NAT, but It is possible and in system it looks as L3+NAT.

Your second question: You can provision APs by more ways.

First is completely automatic - L2 subnet - AP sends broadcast, finds the controller, connect and communicate (firmware upgrade, configuration upload, etc)

Second is also automatic but over L3 - for this case you need to setup your DHCP server with option, your create new vendor attribute with Colubris-AP data and assign the field with IP address of the controller.

Third is completely manual provisioning - you login to IP 192.168.1.1 (on the AP) and setup IP address, VLAN, or additional parameters, and Controller IP. After Restart AP directly contact controller.

Fourth is forced from controller and this is your question.