6040 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: About to Fire My P2000 G3 SAN Out of a Cannon - PFU Loop

VirtualJordo
Occasional Visitor

About to Fire My P2000 G3 SAN Out of a Cannon - PFU Loop

Hello, 

I'll come right out and admit I am an HP SAN noob. My background is in NetApp and I am new to my current organization which had implemented these SANs prior to my arrival. Yesterday my monitoring solution started kicking off alerts related to inaccessibility of the management portal on either controller (http monitor). At the same time the SAN itself generated an alert that the MC had restarted due to error correction. 

I restarted the MC on both controllers and gained access to the portal only to find two windows constantly cycling, one with the title "progress of PFU" and a big blue "i" with a circle around it and another with the same title that says transfer in progress and shows a progress bar that never indicates progress (images attached). 

It's absurd to me that this SAN would try and kick off a firmware update automatically, on hours, and without notification. But it is what it is. Now the management portal on both controllers is unusable, these two windows just keep cycling. 

I have...

- disabled PFU

- restarted the MC on both controllers multiple times

- reseated both controllers 

absolutely no change. 

I was hoping the community could point me in the right direction as I would rather light myself on fire then deal with HPs atrocious support who probably would not even bother to answer my inquiry till 2015 (as has been my consistent experience). 

I have attached images of the error windows for reference and am happy to generate any output the community may need.

Any help is genuinely appreciated. 

Regards, 

4 REPLIES 4
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

>> It's absurd to me that this SAN would try and kick off a firmware update automatically, on hours, and without notification