7268 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Clustering with redundant SAN storage

Lee Chee Wei
Occasional Contributor

Clustering with redundant SAN storage

Hi,

I am planning to implement clustering solution (MSCS) over two sites (a few hundred meters apart), with redundant storage on the two sites as well.

May I know if the SAN controller has any functionalities to mirror data to another physical SAN storage at another site?

Is it possible to automatically failover the storage to allow the cluster to allow information from the mirrored disk?

I'm pretty new to SAN systems so need any advise here.

5 REPLIES 5
Ganesh chichakar

Hi Lee
Well I would like to know what do you mean by redundant storage on two sites, do you mean that each site will have two storage boxes?

Yes there are storage controllers like EVA and XP which will allow you to replicate the data across the sites which MS GDC does not.

and what do you want to say in your third question? i guess you want to know whether automatic failover is possible in between two sites m i rite? if so then well i guess yes.

Welcome to SAN :)
Lee Chee Wei
Occasional Contributor

Hi, thanks for your reply! I am using Microsoft Cluster to create a cluster, which spans over two sites a few hundred meters apart. However, the common disadvantage of clustering is that it requires a shared disk. Hence, the disk can only be placed in one of the sites. If the site goes down, the cluster will fail and hence storage becomes a single point of failure.

I'm wondering if I can have another SAN on the other site, so that data is mirrored to the that storage system. Wonder if microsoft clusters support this configuration, and will automatically write and read from the mirrored disk?
Lee Chee Wei
Occasional Contributor