1752650 Members
5621 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

EVA6000 - Recover space from deleted VDisks

Rob Costello msft

EVA6000 - Recover space from deleted VDisks

Hi all.

I'm very new to HP Storageworks gear, and I have a problem.

I have an EVA6000, which had several vdisks in place. Since re-organising some servers and needing to change disk config, I've deleted the vdisks in Command View EVA, but the disk space that those disks had is not freeing up.

For example, I have 100Gb free space, and I delete a 200Gb vdisk, but I can still only see 100Gb of free space. I can't create a vdisk greater than 100Gb.

Can someone tell me how to recover the space from these deleted vdisks please?

Thanks,
Rob Costello.
4 REPLIES 4
Mark...
Honored Contributor

Re: EVA6000 - Recover space from deleted VDisks

Hi,
Hmmm, interesting - all you should need to do is to delete the vdisks and that's it.
Have you got more than one disk group??
If you have then when you try to create your new vdisk then use the dg drop down to select the dg with the space in it - ie the dg that probably had the vdisks in it that you have deleted.
If not that then what version of XCS and cmd vw are you using ??? I am not aware of any problems like this but maybe others have seen this?
You could also go to the left hand pain of cmd vw, select the top item and then do "rediscover". Basically this gives the fabric a "kicking" to wake things up abit. Check space again.
Do you have any warning triangles within cmd vw ?? if so investigate.
Do you know what the sparing was before you deleted the vdisks ?? The sparing requested level may have been requested higher but not implemented because of lack of space. Once you deleted the vdisks then space would have been created and the sparing level would have adjusted itself. This could well have taken all your "free" space!
To resolve, adjust your sparing level as required.