108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HP MSA 1500 SAN and Windows Server 2003

SOLVED
Go to solution
James Harris_5
Occasional Advisor

HP MSA 1500 SAN and Windows Server 2003

I am new to SANs. I have a newly installed HP MSA 1500 SAN. I have setup my RAID arrays through the HP Array Configuration Utility. From server A I was able to format the arrays under Windows 2003 server and assign drive letters and volume labels. I went to another server, server B, it sees the partitions but they do not have drive letters nor do they have volume labels assigned. If I look at the properties of the partition from server B it says it is raw space. If I assign it a drive letter, the same as I assigned under server A, it is usable but if I copy files to it server A does not see the files I copied from server B. Am I missing something?
24 REPLIES 24
Steven Clementi
Honored Contributor

James:

You can not reliably use shared storage amongstWindows Servers with having some sort of clustering/file locking utility in place.

If your servers ARE clustered with Microsoft Clustering AND your seeing your drives on BOTH servers, then you definitely have a problem as MSCS does not allow shared access to the same LUN at the same time.

Can you give us anymore information?

Steven
Steven Clementi
HP Master ASE, Storage, Servers, and Clustering
MCSE (NT 4.0, W2K, W2K3)
VCP (ESX2, Vi3, vSphere4, vSphere5, vSphere 6.x)
RHCE
NPP3 (Nutanix Platform Professional)
Steven Clementi
Honored Contributor
Solution

That would be...

"You can not reliably use shared storage amongst Windows Servers withOUT having some sort of clustering/file locking utility in place."

Steven
Steven Clementi
MCSE (NT 4.0, W2K, W2K3)
RHCE
James Harris_5
Occasional Advisor