MSA Storage
1751975 Members
5010 Online
108784 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

HPE MSA 2050 Storage Capacity not refreshed in Server 2016 after removing disk group from SMU

SOLVED
Go to solution
kinkingunta
Occasional Advisor

HPE MSA 2050 Storage Capacity not refreshed in Server 2016 after removing disk group from SMU

Dear all,

I want to ask about these, since I'm a newbie for these kind of thing,

I manage a DL 560 Gen10 and a MSA 2050

dg01 = 6 sas x 900GB (Raid 5) = ~ 4,500 GB

dg02 = 2 sas x 900GB (Raid 1) = ~ 900 GB

Total ~ 5.400 GB , after cut by file system, and detected by Server 2016 = ~4.900 GB

now I remove dg02, and SMU automatically adjust the total to ~4.500 GB
and Server 2016 still detected it as 4.900 TB

already tried to restart the DL 560 Gen10 and MSA 2050, still no luck.

any idea why? Thank you.

Best Regards

Kinkin Gunta
5 REPLIES 5

Re: HPE MSA 2050 Storage Capacity not refreshed in Server 2016 after removing disk group from SMU

Please note that dg01 and dg02 both are actually Virtual Disk Groups (VDG) but you have presented volumes which you have created from Pools.

In MSA2050 the architecture is couple of drives create VDG. All VDG will be part of Pool A or Pool B depends on Controller A or Controller B

You might have created Thin Provision Volume of 4900GB

So if you have deleted some VDG which is dg02 in your case that will decrease space from Pool but Volume size will be same only until you modify the same manually.

Your Windows 2016 can't see VDG. Host systems only deals with volumes.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Subhajit

I am an HPE employee

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!

I work for HPE
Accept or Kudo
kinkingunta
Occasional Advisor

Re: HPE MSA 2050 Storage Capacity not refreshed in Server 2016 after removing disk group from SMU

Dear Mr. Subhajit,

Thank you for your kind reply,