New Discussion юеВ

HPE MSA 2052 remote replication

SOLVED
Go to solution
AllanClark
Advisor

HPE MSA 2052 remote replication

Hello,

I am a newbie to replication technolgies with HPE MSA 2052s. We are replacing 2 * P2000 arrays in remote geographical locations linked over a WAN connection. I am testing this set up at present with 2 arrays in the same cabinet & same ethernet switch.

The migrating the existing workloads from P2000 is easy enough. Primary site will be running 2 ESXi hosts with HP MSA2052 connected with direct attachment through FC. The VMs on the hosts will be approx 11Tb in size total, genearting approx 10Gb of change daily. We have appox. 21Tb of usable space with 2 * 800Gb SSDs used as performance tier

The intention is to use 2 * iSCSI ports for remote replication between primary & secondary site. Been advised to use virtual replication & do not want to affect the 'on-line day' will utilise scheduled replications 3 times a day.

A number of parameters are confusing me in setting up the replication set.

Do I want to choose Discard or Queue Latest? (Queue latest seems to be the default).

Do I want a Secondary Snapshot history? If so do I need a retention snapshot history of greater than 1? Do I want to keep Primary Snapshot history? & what should be retention priority - I am guessing Never Delete would not be good option if I want to preserve disk space!

Primarily the remote replication will be used for DR site recovery & not recovery of VMs from point in time.

Second last question - I am guessing that the Enable overcommitment of pool setting should be set as ON, other internal snapshots may grow & we run out of space.

Last question - In testing scheduled replication - continually get these errors.

Scheduler: The scheduler was unable to complete the replication. - Command is taking longer to complete than anticipated. (task: du-msa-01, task type: Replicate)

EVENT ID:#A2238

EVENT CODE:362

EVENT SEVERITY:Error