MSA Storage
1753915 Members
8581 Online
108810 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSA 1050 SAN Storage Issue (Degraded performance in Virtual Pool A, backups failing)

SOLVED
Go to solution
Chris-M
Collector

MSA 1050 SAN Storage Issue (Degraded performance in Virtual Pool A, backups failing)

I currently have a problem that I desperately need help with. I am a little new to managing SAN's (though I've dabbled in it before, I've never encountered something like this which is a problem inherited due to a lack of following best practices from the former IT). Here's what's going on:

I have two storage pools each set at 2395GB. Both consist of 6, 600GB 10k SAS drives.

Storage A has 2 volumes (volumes 1 and 3 sized 1999GB and 2047GB respectively), with a total allocation of 2346 GB. The unallocated space in this pool is 1701GB. (This is the Storage Pool that is having problems, note the pool size vs allocated size with only ~49GB of space left in the pool, yet much more unallocated space that extends beyond the virtual pool size.)

Storage B has 1 volume (volume 2 sized 1999GB), with a total allocation of 958GB. The unallocated space in this pool is 1041GB.

Both of these storage pools are connected to an ESXi cluster of 2 servers. both with read/write to the 3 LUN's 0, 1, and 2 for volumes 1, 2, and 3 respectively. Volumes 1 and 2 are set at Performance Tier Affinity, and 3 is set at No-Affinity.

In VMWare, there's a pretty large discrepancy between the size of available space in the respective data stores vs. the volumes that they are on (in the SAN). I don't know if that has anything to do with this at all, but it's worth mentioning.