MSA Storage
1751703 Members
5562 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: MSA 2040 Add vitual disk-groups of same RAID, but different size, in existing Pool

SOLVED
Go to solution
markos_stefanou
Visitor

MSA 2040 Add vitual disk-groups of same RAID, but different size, in existing Pool

Hello,

excuse me, but I am new to HP MSA technologies and I have some questions:
We have the following existing setup:

MSA 2040
Pool A, 8 virtual disk-groups of RAID1 (2 x 400GB each, SSD)
Pool B  (not-important)

We want to add some more space to Pool A, so we bought two 800GB SSD drives, that will build a RAID 1 virtual diskgroup, with 800GB size.
So, can we add this diskgroup to the existing Pool A, or we should only add 400GB RAID1 diskgroups?
Will there be any performance issues?

Thank you in advance

6 REPLIES 6

Re: MSA 2040 Add vitual disk-groups of same RAID, but different size, in existing Pool

@markos_stefanou 

If the capacity of existing VDG different from new VDG then yes number of pages stored on VDG will eventually differ compared to other Virtual disk group in that Tier, and would therefore also lead to unpredictable performance.

That's why it's always suggested to match the capacity, RAID and disk type with existing VDG if you like to get optimum performance for the same tier.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Subhajit

I am an HPE employee

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!

I work for HPE
Accept or Kudo
markos_stefanou
Visitor

Hello Subjajit,

thank you very much for your answer.

Since there aren't any 400GB SSD sold anymore, we had to buy 800GB SSD. We don't mind using half the space in order to have optimum and predictable performance.

How can I create a VDG (400GB, RAID1) using the two 800GB hard disks, in order to go with the suggested HPE practice?