MSA Storage
1752291 Members
4473 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: MSA 2040 expand RAID 10 VDISK - help

robsteph

MSA 2040 expand RAID 10 VDISK - help

I am getting an error trying to expand a RAID 10 vdisk fron 4 to 8 disks. Any help appreciated I'm new to HP storage - and going off it rapidly!!

The GUI only lets you assign a max 4 disks to a RAID 10 vdisk on creation: is that the maximum allowed?

I cannot find this in a manual.

expand vdisk disks 1.17-20 dgA01

Error: The pool requested is of the wrong storage class.

thanks Rob

3 REPLIES 3
robsteph

Furthermore, when trying to create a RAID 10 vdisk via CLI with more than four disks: 8, I get this error:

# create vdisk level r10 disks 1.13-20 dgA01-r10
Error: RAID10 and RAID50 require an equal number of disks in each sub-disk group. - Must specify two or more subgroups

Advice appreciated. Get me a V7000 too late!!

thanks rob 

Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

From the guide:

The expansion capability for each supported RAID level is:

RAID level                 Expansion capability                                    Maximum disks

NRAID                      Cannot expand.                                           1

0, 3, 5, 6                 Can add 1–4 disks at a time.                             16

1                          Cannot expand.                                          2

10                         Can add 2 or 4 disks at a time.                          16

50                         Can expand the vdisk one RAID-5 sub-vdisk at a          32
                                       time. The added RAID-5 sub-vdisk must contain the  
                                       same number of disks as each original sub-vdisk.

IMPORTANT:     Vdisk expansion cannot be stopped and can take days to complete, depending on disk  
           type, RAID level, and other factors. Before starting expansion, see the HP website  
            http://www.hp.com/support/msa2040/BestPractices.