4966 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

MSA2000fc - Is my setup correct ?

Neil Sutton
Advisor

MSA2000fc - Is my setup correct ?

Hi all,

We are currently looking to implement our first san, we have 10 servers 2 of which are blades in a C3000 enclosure.
Eventually everything will migrate to the blade enclosure and we would like to attach a san to it for consolidated fast server storage.
As I have no experience with SANs could someone confirm if this setup would be correct ?

I am assuming the correct way of accessing SAN resources would be share them via the blade servers which would then in turn be accessible via the trunked link ?

Our main concern is fast storage between the servers but this will also be our main storage area for the entire network.

Any advice would be appreciated!
Thanks
7 REPLIES 7
Neil Sutton
Advisor

Re: MSA2000fc - Is my setup correct ?

I should have noted.. the proposed setup is mocked up in a diagram I have attached to the initial question :)

Cheers
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

We need to learn a bit more details, for example:

- is this a single or dual-controlle MSA2000fc?
- how are the controllers cabled, exactly?
- what operating system is running on the blades?
-- not that two Windows instances CANNOT access the same volume on the MSA2000 concurrently when the file system is NTFS

As the 'clients' do not have an FC interconnect, they cannot access the MSA2000fc directly. You have to decide on a LAN protocol. Again, a block-oriented protocol like FCP(Fibre Channel Protocol) or iSCSI _DOES NOT_ allow concurrent access to an NTFS volume.
Neil Sutton
Advisor

Hi Uwe,

- is this a single or dual-controlle MSA2000fc?
Dual
- how are the controllers cabled, exactly?
Directly to the Brocade 4/12 San switch in the blade enclosure
- what operating system is running on the blades?
Windows Server 2008