MSA Storage
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MSA2012i Warning: KILL_OTHER_CONTROLLER

 
msmlpraveen
Occasional Contributor

MSA2012i Warning: KILL_OTHER_CONTROLLER

Hi all,

My MSA2012i with single controller got failed and the drives are disappeared, Can you please someone guide me with the below event ID?

 

 

MSA storage

 

EVENT:

Killed partner controller; reason=5 (Other not present) EVENT ID:#A9589 EVENT CODE:84 EVENT SEVERITY:Warning EVENT TIME:2015-04-17 23:27:29

 

System Name:  Storage

System Location:

System Contact:

IP Address:

1 REPLY 1
Zsal
Valued Contributor

Re: MSA2012i Warning: KILL_OTHER_CONTROLLER

Normally, this issue would not happen as the System is set to single controller configuration. It turns out that at one point, the controller was replaced, and both controllers were inserted into the system to have the new one copy the configuration of the old one. Once that was done, the system was set to dual controller configuration.


Even though the controller was later removed, and only a single controller in the system, the system was already set to Dual Controller and remains like that. In order to return the MSA to Single Controller Configuration and eliminate the errors and events, the Array must be set back to defaults.

 

Reset Array to Defaults:

 

Restore Defaults, restores the manufacturer's default configuration to the controllers. When the command informs you that the configuration has been restored, you must restart the raid controllers and the management controller for the changes to take effect. After restarting the controllers, host might not be able to access volumes until you re-map them.

Caution: This command changes how the system operates and might require some reconfiguration to restore host access to volumes. Restoring default settings replaces your current configuration changes with the original manufacturer configuration settings. Some of these settings take effect immediately while others take effect after you restart the RAID controllers. Restoring default settings cannot be undone.

Before restoring defaults, you can save your current configuration settings to a file so that you can later restore them if needed. Note: The configuration file does not include configuration data for virtual disks and volumes.

To save system configuration data to a file on the management host or network: 1. Select Manage > Utilities > Configuration Utilities > Save Config File.
2. Click Save Configuration File.
3. If prompted to open or save the file, click Save.
4. If prompted to specify the file location and name, do so, optionally using
a .config extension. The default file name is saved_config.config.

Restoring defaults will not change the following settings:
-IP address, IP subnet mask, or gateway IP address settings.
-Settings related to virtual disks and volumes.


The following user defined configuration information can be returned to factory default values:
-System user names, password, and user types. (Any manually created user will
be deleted)
-System information.
-System Preferences.
-Email and SNMP notification settings.
-Visual Alerts Configuration.
-Date and time settings.
-NTP configuration. -Volume mapping information.
-Snapshot scheduling information.
-WWN nicknames given to host.
-Controller Host port Link Speed will change back to 4GBit/Second and Host
port topology will change to Loop.
-DHCP gets enabled but retains the IP address if previously assigned manually. -Telnet Timeout settings will change back to default (Default is 60 Minutes).
-If Web Page Caching Mode is disabled it will get enabled after restore default.


Both controllers will need to be restarted for changes to take affect.
Host access will be lost but Vdisk and volumes are not touched.


To restore all defaults from SMU:
1. Select Manage > General Config > Restore Defaults.
2. (Optional) To see a list of the current settings and default settings,
click See Restore. Defaults Changes. When done, click Return to Restore
Defaults Page.
3. In the Restore Defaults panel, click Restore Defaults.
Changes take effect immediately, except for Requested Loop ID for host
ports (one per controller), which requires a controller restart.
Select Manage > Restart System > Shut Down/Restart.


Restoring defaults via CLI:
Command requires manage permissions.
Command is “restore defaults”
Manual reboot of controllers is required once command is completed.


NOTE: This command should only be used by service technicians, or with the
advice of a service technician.


CLI can be accessed in two ways:
-By using a terminal emulator on a management host that is directly connected
to the serial CLI port of a controller module. See the user guide for
information on setting up the terminal emulator.

-By using Telnet, an SSH application, or a terminal emulator on a management
host that is remotely connected through a LAN to the Ethernet port of a
controller module.

 

 

Regards

Zsal

 

If this post is helpful, thank me with Kudos. Click "White thumbs up"