108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Questions about setting up redundancy with an MSA1000 & Secure Path

SOLVED
Go to solution
CA1117225

Questions about setting up redundancy with an MSA1000 & Secure Path

Hi,

I am new to SAN's (understand from a conceptual level but never had to build one until now) and had some questions about the order of the installation. I have lots of experience using the ACU for SCSI attached storage but not sure about the best way to proceed with Fibre attached storage. Here's what I've got:

Server = DL580 G2 running Win2k3 Enterprise; 2 HBA's inside the server (281541-B21)
HBA's are connected to 2 External 8 port Fibre switches (322120-B21).
1 MSA1000 (with 2 controllers) connected to the 2 External 8 port Fibre switches.
Secure Path Software (213076-B26).

I followed the instructions and have all the hardware racked and setup correctly. I have the O/S installed and have all firmware and drivers up to date. I am at the point where I need to make the disks in the MSA1000 available to the server. I could not find much documentation out there on how to do this with redundant controllers and Secure Path. I want full redundancy in my setup (2 HBA's, 2 Switches, 2 controllers in the MSA1000) and want each redundant part to take over if its counterpart fails. My questions are as follows:

1. Do I just run the ACU and create my Arrays and then go into Disk Manager and format the drives? If so, how is the redundancy configured (e.g., is the MSA1000 intelligent enough to do this automatically)?

2. Or do I need to install Secure Path first and then run the ACU? If so, how do I do this? Is there a GUI for Secure Path (the manual kept referring the command line)? What are the steps I need to perform to setup redundancy with Secure Path?

3. Is there any other software and/or steps I need to perform before running the ACU and Secure Path setups?