108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: SAN switch question

SOLVED
Go to solution
BR849676
Occasional Advisor

SAN switch question

We have 2 Compaq Storageworks FC San Switches. When i look at the configuration via the Web interface at the Alias table, there are some options i can't find in the manuals.
When you define an alias, you can add multiple ports from the switch to the alias. You can add them in two ways:
"Add host >" or "Add member >". When you choose "Add host" the host will be displayed as H{1,8}. When you choose "Add member" it's displayed as 1,3 (for example).
Maybe the answer is very simple, but i've little experience with SAN configurations.
I've added a screenshot.

Jeroen.
10 REPLIES 10
BR849676
Occasional Advisor

Ooops..
My question is: what is the difference between "Add host >" or "Add member >".

Jeroen
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

The "H{...}" notation is used by Quickloop Fabric Assist. It allows a private host to address private/public/fabric targets.

It's unlikely that you need QL, so you should be fine with the normal 'member'.
BR849676
Occasional Advisor

Uwe,

Thank you for your answer.
I'm still wondering why the switch was configured this way.
(an Alpha Server is connected through this switch with a MSA1000)

Jeroen

Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

Somebody might have misunderstood the purpose of "Add host>" and acted in good faith. The word 'host' is often used as an alternative to 'server'. You don't write what operating system is running on the server, but those that are available for Alpha typically use fabric protocol anyway.
BR849676
Occasional Advisor

The Alpha server has OpenVMS 7.3-1. The SAN connected is an MSA1000. The switch has also connected a HSG80 (which are used by VMS and Windows platform).

Has the term "Quickloop Fabric Assist" something to do with "arbitrated loop topology" which is mentioned in the the manual (version of 09-2003) "Guidelines for OpenVMS Cluster Configurations" on page 7-5: