8666 Online
108806 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Storage Msa 2040

MatheusGiovanni
Occasional Visitor

Storage Msa 2040

Hello.
I have no experience with storages, and I already have the mission in the company that works to configure the same in our internal network. Initial settings already done: apply RAID 5 to the disks, change the system name and ip to the network range. The only step left to complete my work is to map the same to users' dektops, to store files.

I have some questions about 2040 storage configurations.

1 - How to make the physical connection of the storage in the network?
2 - How do network desktops see storage in their mappings as a volume?

I'm sure I'll be able to complete this work.

My current scenario:
Storage 2040 connected to an HP 5500 switch (UTP cable connection)
Server HP windows 2012 R2 connected on the same switch (UTP cable connection)
and finally a common Windows 7 desktop, also on the same switch (UTP cable connection).

I look forward to your help, thankful.

4 REPLIES 4
Rafi786
HPE Pro

Hello Matheus Giovanni,

The MSA2040 is provisioned (creating volumes and mapping to host) via webGUI or CLI access to its management port.

There are 2x management ports on MSA2040 SAN, one on each controller.

If there is a new array and is not yet configured, user could setup the laptop/system in array default newtork space, connect to mgmt port via cross-over cable and configure/change the network settings.

Array has iSCSI host ports (based on controller type) to connect and map the LUN(s) to hosts CNA PCI cards.

User will need to assign host reachable IP addresses to MSA iSCSI ports and configure additional sessions (additional physical paths) from host iSCSI template.

**Jumbo frame must be enabled on all or none (array host port settings, switch and HBA).

The LUN could be mapped to desktop if iSCSI template is available on installed OS and desktop has compatible CNA card.

For basic connectivity, please refer :