4602 Online
108723 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: There is a problem with a FRU - MSA2324i

Jins1211

There is a problem with a FRU - MSA2324i

Hey guys,

One of the disks is amber and I saw this error on on one of the vdisks

There is a problem with a FRU. (FRU type: disk, enclosure: 1, device ID: 5, vendor: HP , product ID: DG0300FAMWN , SN: 3SEXXFE200009013YXXX, version: HPDC, related event serial number: A22614, related event code: 55).

Can I just replace the hard drive with a new one? and will it will rebuild?

I'm very new to the company and I'm still trying to understand the way things are set up here.

4 REPLIES 4
HPSDMike
HPE Pro

Well, it is likely that this disk has failed but can't tell for sure. If the array is still functional, with the disk down, then you could likely pull it and replace it. Whether it will rebuild depends on whether a spare has already taken over for this vdisk. If one has, then this disk will likely just be available but unassigned. In that case, it might be worth while to mark it as a spare so it can function for a future failure. As always, if you have support on the array, log a support case and have support walk you through the whole event. You'd need to do that anyway if you were getting a replacement drive under support. Assuming you don't have support then you'll need to source your own replacement drive and kind of wing it. 

So that we have more information, please consider using putty to CLI into the array. Then, paste the outputs of the following commands:

1. show disks
  2. show vdisks
  3. show spares

Thanks

I work for HPE. The comments in this post are my own and do not represent an official reply from the company. No warranty or guarantees of any kind are expressed in my reply.

Accept or Kudo

CBW2
Occasional Visitor

Can a bad drive (from this same error) be swapped out during a VDISK expansion job?