1752667 Members
5332 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: hp msa 2040 expand space

ewjimy
Visitor

hp msa 2040 expand space

Hi, I'm a complete newbie to hp msa 2040, please help me figure out the current free space on the storage and how can I add space to my main pool? I am attaching screenshots. https://imgur.com/a/N0b6y6A

3 REPLIES 3

@ewjimy 

MSA 2040 is 4th Generation array in HPE MSA family which can be used as Linear and Virtual. This is exactly done for your system as well.

Linear means Thick Volume or Fully allocated Space

Virtual means Thin Volume or space will get allocated as in when host require to write new data. Also space get reduced or reclaimed when data gets deleted at the host end.

In your setup, you have Pool A which is configured as Virtual and this is owning by Controller A. On the other side, you have Vdisk named Vol2 which is configured as Linear and this is owning by Controller B.

First coming to Linear part
---------------------------------

Your total Linear Storage space = (Reserved + Allocated + unallocated) = 16.0TB but usable space 11.9TB only

(Note: Reserved is nothing but space that gets consumed due to RAID parity and metadata. This space can't be used for user data)

Vol2 is vdisk whose size is 11.9TB and 1 Volume created from this vdisk named Vol2_v0001 whose size 11.8TB. It means still some space left on the vdisk which is nothing but free space shows as 90.2GB

It looks like this Volume not presented to any hosts so entire 11.8TB is unused or blank from host perspective but from array perspective entire 11.8TB is allocated because this is Thick Volume.

So if you want to increase space of vdisk Vol2 then you have to add more drives with this vdisk. Also you can add more drives and create separate vdisks as well.

Now coming to Virtual Part
----------------------------------