1752756 Members
4856 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

msa2012i questions

Tom Lyczko
Super Advisor

msa2012i questions

Hello, I am new to SANs, please bear with me.
We've been recommended by a consultant to get an MSA2000-series SAN.
It looks like the most current version is MSA2012i.
We would use it for a VMware environment.
My questions, having never seen or used a SAN:
1. What is the minimum number of disk drives??
2. Can one mix SAS drives of different speeds or should they all be the same speed??
3. Can one have SAS and SATA drives in the same SAN?? (I assume SAS and SATA would have to be different LUNs??) Though we will likely go with SATA due to cost...budget allows for an ESX HA Kit plus a server plus a SAN.
4. Do I need additional NICs in the ESX servers to connect to the SAN?? The ESX servers already have dual NICs, presently bonded for 2 Gbps throughput.
5. How many NIC cables and power cords?? It seems from the docs at least 2-4 NIC cables and dual power supplies.
This is a very small ESX environment, less than 500 GB now, perhaps a TB by next year, <10 servers.
Evaluating 2 ESX servers plus SAN for business continuity more than disaster recovery, offsite replication etc. is not possible due to low bandwidth WAN connections.

---------------
PS: This thread has been moved from "disk, disk arrays" to "SAN" - Forums Moderator
3 REPLIES 3
Tom Lyczko
Super Advisor

Re: msa2012i questions

One question I forgot:

6. What is the "LTU" in the HP MSA2000 Snapshot 8 Software LTU software accessory??

I understand this software is for taking snapshots and other aspects of a SAN, how good is it??

Thank you, Tom
Tom Lyczko
Super Advisor

Can a moderator please re-categorize this thread into the "SAN" category, so I can perhaps receive some replies??

Thank you, Tom
Chris Rosan
Valued Contributor

Tom,