MSA Storage
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

new server - same LU -permissions??

 
Hutch
Occasional Advisor

new server - same LU -permissions??

I was wondering if I need to look out for anything when I upgrade our server.

Currently it's on 2000, were moving to 2003. I'm formating the box, then doing a fresh install.

Will the LU that it's attached to come back with all it's permissions still intact?
Thanks,
2 REPLIES 2
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

Re: new server - same LU -permissions??

If you disconnect the LUN before the installation of W2003, it will not be altered in any way, but please understand that the SID (and thus, what I understand, as a result all local user identifiers) will change.
.
Hutch
Occasional Advisor

Re: new server - same LU -permissions??

So if I just unplug the fiber cable from the back of the server I should be okay? (as far as data loss goes) I just don't want to lose any data.

As far as the SID goes, that is related to Active Directory, so maybe it will not be effected?
Anyone know that for sure?