4389 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Configure server with two IP addresses in one NIC

Spyros_
Advisor

Configure server with two IP addresses in one NIC

Hi all,

The problem is that i have one remaining lan interface at my server and i want to connect it through one switch to two different networks. 

I suppose the best solution is to create two different vlans in one NIC with different IPs, but i am new at HP-UX and i don't know how to configure this issue.

The OS version is HP-UX 11.11

Best regards,

Spyros
7 REPLIES 7
hzftk2

Hello "Spyros_",

The more simply way is use "sam" (System Administration Manager)

1. Logging with root to the server (via vTerm)
  2. In command line write sam [Enter]; a "menu" will be appear; move with [arrow keys]
  3. Go to " Networking and Communications ->" (Enter)
  4. Go to "Network Interface Cards" [Enter]
  5. Move with [arrow keys], select the Network Interface with [Spacebar]
  6. [tab key] for menu access; move to Actions menu with [arrow keys], [Enter]
  7. Select in the menu "Modify..." move with [arrow keys]; if you will assigned the first IP to the NIC or "Add IP Logical Interface..." move with [arrow keys]; if you will assigned and additional IP to the NIC
  8. When you finish, to go back to the previous menu, [tab key] for menu access; move to "File" menu with [arrow keys], [Enter], [Exit]
  9. In the previous menu you have the possibility to add the "Routers" for you additional IP, if required.

I hope this will help you, usually this acction required "trial and error" to obtain the expected result.

Regards,

hzftk2

I work for HP. If this answer has been helpful and clarifies or resolves your problem, please mark the topic as solved and click my star next to give a kudo as thanks.
Spyros_
Advisor

hello hzftk2,

Thanks a lot for your useful informations. Based on your instruction guide i create two different lans on the same NIC. 

IP_ADDRESS[2]=192.168.1.2
SUBNET_MASK[2]=255.255.255.0