108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Linux router lan to lan

SOLVED
Go to solution
Tv_3
Respected Contributor

Linux router lan to lan

Can someone give me a kickstart, I would like to make a lan to lan router.

Can someone point me to documents, the only docs I found are for setting up a router/firewall lan to internet (WAN)

I have two network segments 196.168.0.X/24 and a 172.16.X.X/16 network segment witch I need to connect.

I'm not a linux wizard, I have little to non experience using linux / unix or wathever.

Any help would be appriciated.

Sincerly
Chaos, Panic or Disaster??? Always Stay Calm, I will fix it.
9 REPLIES 9
Kasper Hedensted
Trusted Contributor

Hi,

Check out Freesco
http://www.freesco.org/

Cheers
Kasper
Stuart Browne
Honored Contributor

Are we talking two network interfaces, one in each segment?

Then it's simple. No firewalling *required* (but can be done if wanted).

It's called "route".

Set up a simple linux box with two NIC's, each with an IP from their respective subnets.

Turn on IP Forwarding using '/etc/sysctl.conf' (net.ipvr.ip_forward = 1), and 'sysctl -p' to re-read the config (or 'echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward').

Set the linux box as the default route (or add a network route for the opposing subnet) to go to the Linux box.

On the linux box it's self though, set a default route to the interface of the 172 subnet, and that should be it.

Simple. ;)
One long-haired git at your service...
Gopi Sekar
Honored Contributor

if you are having two network cards each connecting to two different networks then it is not a problem as stuart mentioned.

Make sure that all the client boxes point to this machine (which connects to both the network) as default gateway. This machine should have ip_forward enabled.

Regards,
Gopi
Never Never Never Giveup
Patrick Terlisten
Honored Contributor

Hi,