5872 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Networking 5 computers

Alice M. Williams
Occasional Advisor

Networking 5 computers

I am an IT student and the scenario that was given to me back my instructor is:
A friend of your family owns and operates a large walking horse farm, he has 5 computers that is not networked. He has ask you to design a network for the operation. The main objective is to share files/data and be able to update and query files/datafrom amyof the 5 locations. network security is extremely important. #1 A P4 running on a Linux operating system. Located in the upstairs office of the main hour, approx 1/4 mile from the closest barn. #2 A P3 running ona Windows 200 operating system. Located in the downstairs study of the main house. aprox 1/4 mile to the closest barn. #3 An old 486 running on a Windows 95 operating system. located in one of the barns. approx 100 yards from the closest barn. #4 and #5 are both P4s running on a XP operating systems. located in the main barn about 100 feet from each other. This barn is approx 150 yards fro the closest barn. There is a high voltage trasmission line approx 1/4 mile from the closest barn. It shouldn't be a problem but, the owner is very concerned about data security and doesn't want to take any changes. all of the barns have telephone service.
18 REPLIES 18
Mark Greene_1
Honored Contributor

Re: Networking 5 computers

How much help has your instructor said you can get with this?

mark
the future will be a lot like now, only later
Alice M. Williams
Occasional Advisor

He did not say. But it is not a test, it is a graded discussion. I had an idea and I think that I have the correct answer written out on paper. But he want us to draw a design. If could sent you an attachment to show what I have, My class is on line and there is somethings that I don't understand and it is due tomorrow, so I don't have time for him to answer me back.
Thanks
Dwyane Everts_1
Honored Contributor

Alice,