Operating System - OpenVMS
1753405 Members
7427 Online
108793 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: OpenVMS VAX TCP-IP problem

M. van der Veeken

OpenVMS VAX TCP-IP problem

First off all, I must apologize. I am very new to OpenVMS and I have no one in my direct surroundings that uses OpenVMS. This could be a 'stupid' question.

I have a VAX machine, with OpenVMS 7.1 installed on it. I have installed and configured the TCP IP Services via TCPIP$CONFIG

I have (re)started the service.

I get no error messages, TCP IP (and the services like telnet etc.) starts up.

I can telnet from the VMS to the localhost ('telnet localhost' works fine.

But if i telnet from my win2k machine it times out. Also if i ping the vax machines adress it times out.

I am shure to have the correct adress (via the 'show net' command).

Can anyone help me?
5 REPLIES 5
Willem Grooters
Honored Contributor

Well, this forum is for helping newbies further. Don't hesitate to as, there will be someone at elast to help you out...

Now your problem. Let's start at the very bais tests:

On your VAX, give the command:

$ TCPIP PING

(FYI: This is the normal way (I guess) to show VMS commands. So do NOT! type the "$" (though VMS won't complain)

On your Win2K machine, type in CMD box:

ping

This should give a result in both ways.

If this doesn't work, check this on your VAX:

$ TCPIP
TCPIP>

(Before I forget, this is the TCPIP-prompt, so do not type this)

TCPIP> ifconfig -a

this will show your interfaces.

If youre familiar with Unix, you could also do:
TCPIP? netstat -A

and any other netstat command.

TCPIP> SHOW ROUTE can give you a clue on your routes - be sure the default is the right one!

BTW:
It's quite normal in VMS that HELP will get you further. Not only on DCL level (The "$" prompt) but also within TCPIP. Just roam around.

HTH

Willem
Willem Grooters
OpenVMS Developer & System Manager
Martin P.J. Zinser
Honored Contributor