5768 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: locking and opening sockets

Kevin Bingham
Regular Advisor

locking and opening sockets

Hi,

I am a complete novice with respect to Unix network security and have some questions:

We sell our s/w to companies running HP or AIX servers, and I need to know how to advise other novice Sysadm's how to lock and/or open the sockets or software needs. e.g. one customer whose sysadm resigned just before they bought our s/w needs to know how to open the 7500 port up. I guess it's safe to assume a starting position of no 3rd party software, to mentioning major players in the firewall environments... a broad topic I know.

Any detailed answers will be gladly received (and rewarded).

Thanks in advance
Kevin
3 REPLIES 3
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor

First go hit your developer over the head because he didn't play by the rules.
He should have gone to this site and determined if port 7500 is not registered.

http://www.iana.org/assignments/port-numbers

But it any event there is no way to "lock" a port because it is first come, first served. The first process to begin listening on port 7500 wins.

What you really need to do is a "netstat -an | grep 7500" and if nothing is found then the port is not being used --- at the moment.

Ideally, you would find a port that is available according to IANA and also is not currently in use on your boxes (and if this is a serious project then register this port).

NOTE: entries in /etc/services do nothing to reserve a port; those entries simply do name to portnumber mapping.
If it ain't broke, I can fix that.
Kevin Bingham
Regular Advisor

Thanks for the response Clay, I guess I should have put this info in the original post as well: