1748285 Members
3692 Online
108761 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Confused

Danny Khong_1
Advisor

Confused

Need help. Too many motherboard in the market. Is AMD 64-bit CPU ok compare to Intel P4 Hyper Threading? Which chipset is good - VIA, NForce, 865G/PE, and others? 478pin, LGA 775 or 800FSB? Too much variety. Need to replace my HP M/B. Thank you in advance. (do not know why issued with this icon - I am not an expert).
Emptiness
3 REPLIES 3
Steven Clementi
Honored Contributor

Re: Confused

Danny:

Your looking to understand alot of different things here....

First off, the processor you want depends on a few things. Mainly, what you will use the PC for. Do you need something that can run a 64bit OS and 64bit apps? Both AMD and Intel put out some competitive products. Currently, I thik AMD is giving Intel a run for thir money, but me personally, I try to stay away from AMD cpu's. Just personal prefrence I guess, but would consider them if a need arose that an AMD would be better suited for.

Hyper-threading is a nifty feature to have in general, but having a true dual core cpu would be better. Both AMD and Intel make dual core products.

An intel chipset would probably be most compatible with an Intel processor, while others(VIA, etc) have similar functionality perhaps each with a few distinct features.

478 and 775 are Intel cpu socket/pinout types while FSB is the Front Side Bus Speed. This is the speed that the cpu and memory and system bus uses t o talk to each other. AMD uses Socket 754 or 939 and 940

Think about a few things and let us know...

What will this box (whether it be a PC or a Workstation or a Server) do? What apps will run on it?

Also, in your profile, you have yourself marked as an expert for the catagory of "Microsoft: General". If you feel you are not an expert, feel free to access your profile and make the proper changes.

Steven
Steven Clementi
HP Master ASE, Storage, Servers, and Clustering
MCSE (NT 4.0, W2K, W2K3)