1753366 Members
5709 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

need to update windows nt 4.0 to windows 2000 server

Thor_5

need to update windows nt 4.0 to windows 2000 server

Hi i am new to networking, and i need some help

where i work they have a dc controler and a nt 4.0 as a bdc but now they are going to get a new server windows2000 to have as a backup dc, and they want to update the nt 4.0 to windows2000 member server in a doman. what do i need to install this and how?
thanks for your help
5 REPLIES 5
Jon Finley
Honored Contributor

Re: need to update windows nt 4.0 to windows 2000 server

You'll be asked during the install if this computer is to become a DC or not.

Member server is one of the available options.

Jon
"Do or do not. There is no try!" - Yoda
Dan Baxter
Frequent Advisor

If you have to upgrade a domain controller in place, you may not be asked if you want to make it a member server. I haven't done it in a while and can't remember.

However, once the upgrade is done, if it is a DC, then just run dcpromo and demote it back down to a member server.
Those who are different, change the world. Those who are the same, keep it that way.
Jose Antonio Orozco
Frequent Advisor

Due Windows2000 can't act as an Domain Controller (by design MS pushes you to Active Directory), you can only make it member server.
The Primary and Backup domain controller role is only supported by WinNT 4.0
You must first migrate to Active Directory (a whole project) and then reinstall NT as win2000 member server.
What is not backed up, it not exists
Jose Antonio Orozco
Frequent Advisor

Tim Malnati
Honored Contributor