mouse it says "Interrupt request 12
used by: communications port (Com1)".
What is wrong and what do I do to fix
it? I would really appreciate some insight. Thank You
6 REPLIES 6
Michael_207
Frequent Advisor

Re: resource conflict (Code 15)

First of all, if you can, bin Me as it is not a good o.s.

If you have been thinking of upgrading this is a good time. If not then uninstall and re-install the driver from the cd you got when you bought the mouse. or perhaps the driver will be packed with the Me cd.

It is widely accepted that Me is not a good platform so try to sort that first.

If you have installed any recent hardware the uninstall it.
We are born naked, wet and hungry. Then things get worse.
Troy Clark

I should have given more information. I have tried reinstalling my mouse driver. I have also totally uninstalled my mouse and reinstalled it. I'm no expert, but it seems to me to be a problem with the conflict. I have not installed any hardware on my computer( until reinstalling the mouse driver). My next try will be to install a different mouse and then reinstall my old one. I'm pretty sure that wont work though. Thank you so much for the info. Got any other suggestions? Upgrading my OS is probably the best idea, but honestly, I probably wont be doing that anytime soon.
Roger Faucher
Honored Contributor

Hi:

Is your mouse a serial mouse or a PS/2 mouse. A PS/2 mouse normally uses IRQ12, however a serial mouse on COM1 should use IRQ4. Based on what you said, I would consider removing the mouse AND COM1 from Device Manager (make sure you have the Windows CD available). Then reboot and let us know what happens.

Good luck!

Roger
Make a great day!

Roger
Roger Faucher
Honored Contributor

It occurs to me that COM1 may be using IRQ12 because something else is using COM4. See if anything is.

Roger
Make a great day!

Roger
Michael_207
Frequent Advisor

Make sure you always check for viruses as the first step in debugging any PC problem.

Check Other Hardware