Operating System - OpenVMS
1748137 Members
3722 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion

A couple questions:(Answer what you can)

SOLVED
Go to solution
JustinDoss
Advisor

A couple questions:(Answer what you can)

1.  Can I do a backup/image on an OpenVMS 8.2 box and restore it over a 7.1 box instead of trying to do the stupid upgrade path they require?

2.  How do you boot into a layered products disc to install them?  The machine I am working on will boot into an OS disc just fine but I read that in order to install layered products you had to boot into that disc but that doesnt seem to work for me.

3.  Does anyone have easier directions on renaming a host?  I have seen the process overview on hoffman labs but no step-by-step.  I am a noob when it comes to openvms so even just the first step "Update the SCSNODE in MODPARAMS.DAT, and then run AUTOGEN as far as the SETPARAMS phase" confuses me.  Where is MODPARAMS.DAT to modify it and how do I run Autogen only to the SETPARAMS phase...

Thanks,

Justin Doss

6 REPLIES 6
Hoff
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: A couple questions:(Answer what you can)

1: Sure.  You'll end up with whatever was on the source disk for the (archiac) V8.2 BACKUP /IMAGE, and not what's on the V7.1 (yet more archaic) disk.   Which is probably not what you are envisioning here, though.   OpenVMS doesn't work like OS X and some other operating systems, and doesn't have a particularly clean way of installing or reinstalling itself.   But if you are going to blast in a new kit, then blasting in V8.4 has an analogous end result, though leaves you with a clean copy of the current software bits.    If you're upgrading from V7.1 to V8.4 (current), and wish to preserve the disk contents, then you'll have to make several intermediate upgrades.