108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

ASTs corrupting stack frames in DECC 6.5 /optimize

SOLVED
Go to solution
David Jones_21
Trusted Contributor

ASTs corrupting stack frames in DECC 6.5 /optimize

I made a tweak to some code I've been running on my alpha for 6 years and it doesn't work correctly with the new compiler unless you compile it /noopt or /opt=level=1. What seems to be happening is that an AST delivered during the initial execution of afi_exchange_pending() is depositing 0x040001 in the return address of that routine's stack frame. Using /reentrancy=AST makes no difference. Is this a bug in the compiler?

The attachment is a test program I assembled to better isolate the problem. When compiled/optim=level=1, the AST frame is 48 bytes higher on the stack than with level=2 optimization. Note that the program uses SYS$SNDJBC() to muck with the accounting file, so I would caution against actually trying to run the program.
I'm looking for marbles all day long.
4 REPLIES 4
John Gillings
Honored Contributor

Re: ASTs corrupting stack frames in DECC 6.5 /optimize

David,

Unfortunately "it's been working for years" doesn't really mean much. Although there's an outside chance of a compiler bug, this is almost certainly an application error. They're far too easy to make in C, and can lurk benignly for decades.

The value 040001 looks suspiciously like an IOSB for the successful completion of a 4 byte $QIO to me. Running under DEBUG, I find that the corruption goes away with tracing on, which suggests a timing issue.

So, take a very careful look at the iosb's of ALL asynch system services. You're looking for one with context "above" your problem routine.
A crucible of informative mistakes
John Gillings
Honored Contributor
Solution

David,
Aha! I think I've found it...