3658 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: CIFS on OpenVMS IA64.

The Brit
Honored Contributor

Hi Rob.

Just a small confusion, you have "workgroup = UK", but your example at the bottom looks like it joined Domain "UKVISTA".

Are "workgroup" and "domain" not equivalent??

Dave.
CJBe
Advisor

Hello Rob,

I'm a young openVMS Admin and now taking my first steps in CIFS on OpenVMS. I looked up your configuration and found the entry

username map = ...

I also tried to use this entry but still having problems with it. I want to map an Domainuser to an existing OpenVMS-User with winbind. Could you tell me how Your entries in the "username.map" look like?

I tried something like:

OpenVMS-USER = Domainuser

Must the openVMS-User and the Domainuser use the same Password on openVMS and in the Domain?

Thanks

Chris
Shilpa K
Valued Contributor

Hi Dave,

Could you please send me e-mail so that I can send you the document which might help you with CIFS file security and the uid/gid stuff?

my mail id (shilpa.krishnareddy@hp.com)

Regards,
Shilpa
Robert Atkinson
Respected Contributor

Sorry to confuse Dave - the CONF file is from our Production network (UK), but the JOIN command was taken from a test network (UKVISTA).

You're correct that the two would normally be the same.

Rob.
Robert Atkinson
Respected Contributor

Chris, the format for the USERNAME.MAP file is :-

VMSUSER=DOMAIN\USERNAME

i.e. ROBERT=UK\RATKINSON

If your security config is set to DOMAIN, then the authentication is done using the Windows username and password. If authentication is successful, then the SMB process is created using the persona of the VMS username.

There's something REALLY important in this, and is why we had so many problems with CIFS. Every time you do anything on a CIFS share, the CIFS server has to go off and authenticate against the Windows domain. Depending on how big your domain is, this can obviously take a certain amount of time.