Re: Cobol Compiler generated Code is very slow on IA64

SOLVED
Go to solution
Phil.Howell
Honored Contributor

using an alphastation and 2.2 cobol
see attachment
there are no floats so I didn't use that qualifier and my compiler doesn't have /ARITH

I am surprised that your axp opt didn't improve things much - were your elapsed and cpu times nearly the same?
Phil

Malcolm Wade
Valued Contributor

Beat,

Having looked at your code it looks like something found and reported to hp late last year. It is still being worked on.

The issue is to do with "ELF object format used on Integrity does not allow for "sparse" initialization".

Looking at your code it will probably be the statment

01 I02-IND-MAX PIC 9(08) VALUE 5000000.

that is causing your issue. Reduce the value to prove it to yourself.

You'll probably notice a reduction on the object size too.

I'm not a COBOL expert but the advice from hp was to change the source code to alleviate this effect by moving the initialization of (in your case) I02-IND-MAX from the WSS to somewhere in the code at run-time.

"Mr Cobol" is still looking into making improvements but I've heard nothing recently so this is a timely reminder for me to chase hp up!

Hope this helps,
Malcolm
Burkart Beat
Frequent Advisor

Hello all

Thank you very much for your time - reading and answering my post.

The Tip with the declaration using COMP as datatype really did the job! After applying the change to the "REAL" program ist went thru within normal expected runtime. Reduced the consumed CPU time from 25Min to 5Min.

My job is now to find and change all bad declared loop variables within the 3000 sources and to son deep testing. Im sure we will find also other things, but this will be another story.

I close this topic and assign some points to you...

Again many thanks!
Beat
Burkart Beat
Frequent Advisor

case closed !
John Reagan
Respected Contributor

malcolm, this is different than your problem. The statement