New Discussion юеВ

Re: Cobol Data Division Question

SOLVED
Go to solution
DECxchange
Regular Advisor

Cobol Data Division Question

Hello,
I am new to Cobol on OpenVMS Alpha 7.3. I just had a simple question. Does anybody know how manny bytes the following statement represents? My guess is 8 + 5 = 13. Or is in Words? I tried to look this up in the Cobol language reference manual on OpenVMS.org but couldn't find it.

01 WS-VALUE-SUMMARY-TABLE.
05 WS-PROD-FORCED-DOWN-TIME PIC 9(08)V9(05).

The reason I'm asking this is I had to add some variables to this file definition. It is a layout for an RMS Indexed file. I recompiled and relinked the Cobol program and got the following error in the VMS debugger:

1130: " DATE: ", SUMMARY-DATE
->1131: WRITE OPERATION-REC
1132: INVALID KEY
1133: DISPLAY "WRITE TO SUMMARY FILE FAILED"
1134: DISPLAY "FILE STATUS ",FSTAT-OPERATION
1135: END-IF.
1136:
тФА OUT -outputтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФА
stepped to IC4107A\%LINE 1264 in THREAD 1
stepped to IC4107A\%LINE 1267 in THREAD 1
stepped to IC4107A\212-GET-SPECIFIC-MACHINE in THREAD 1
break at IC4107A\%LINE 1131 in THREAD 1
%COB-F-WRITE_ERROR, Error during WRITE on file OSFTDISK3:[RMS]IC4107A.IDX;2
-RMS-F-RSZ, invalid record size
break on unhandled exception preceding SHARE$DEC$COBRTL+107012 in THREAD 1
тФА PROMPT -error-program-promptтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФАтФА
%DEBUG-I-SOURCESCOPE, Source lines not available for .0\%PC
Displaying source in a caller of the current routine
DBG>

So basically, I'm trying to fix the error:
-RMS-F-RSZ, invalid record size