1751829 Members
5086 Online
108782 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Compiler Code Generation Question

sccr13plyr

Compiler Code Generation Question

Hello,

I do not know if this forum is the right place to post this message. If it is not, please let me know a better place to get my question
addressed. I am an old C programmer that became a self-taught C++ programmer. So, the attached may simply be my ignorance of the C++ language.

I am at a site that has an older application written in C that has over time been migrated to C++. This is a high performance application that processes a 100 million records a day that are then broken down into component transactions. We have a set of algorithms that process these transactions and have a lot of duplicate logic. We want to add functionality, simplify the code, and keep the performance.

This approach would collapse multiple algorithms (eight) into one body of logic in GenericLogic. By using constants, my desire is to have the compiler create three separate versions of GenericLogic (one for each of the new class declarations in main), removing code (and comparisons) that would never need to be used.

Should I expect that the compiler is actually removing unreachable code? The machine listing appears to show the comparisons. Should I be utilizing a different C++ language construct?

Thanks in advance for your assistance, and sorry if this is not the
right venue...

sccr13plyr

silly site will only allow one attachment...

#include

#pragma message disable BOOLEXPRCONST

class BaseAlgorithm
{
public: virtual ~BaseAlgorithm (){}

public: inline void Display (const int id, const char* output)
{
(void) printf ("Algorithm: %d - %s\n", id, output);
}
};

template
class GenericAlgorithm : public BaseAlgorithm
{
private: static const int algorithmId_ = id;
private: static const bool checkPriceChanged_ = checkPrice;
private: static const bool specificCode_ = specificCode;
private: static const bool currentTransOnly_ = currTran;