New Discussion юеВ

Re: Create cluster out of two existing standalone Alpha system

SOLVED
Go to solution
Richard Brock
Occasional Contributor

Create cluster out of two existing standalone Alpha system

Hi.

Although I have over 20 years of OVMS experience I've yet attempted to create a cluster as follows:

Both systems - running OVMS 7.3-2 on GS160s -
are standalone. Both have their own system disks and after clustering this must remain so ie, they both must continue to use their own complement of disks and especially the system disk. (Don't ask why, please!)

I know VMS 101 teaches us to create a cluster
the first thing to do is run cluster_config or cluster_config_lan.com.
But I also know that when doing so the procedures will ask for a new root on the system disk and then create it. This is don't really want to do.

Any ideas on the least painful way to accomplish this odd task?

Thanks.

Richard
6 REPLIES 6
Jan van den Ende
Honored Contributor
Solution

Richard,

really the simplest way is to cheat, or, to put it somewhat else, to introduce some redundancy ahead of time.

Simply choose [SYS1] (or any other of your liking except SYSE or SYSF )
The new node will NOT be a satellite!

Amongst other things, this will create sys$common:[sysexe]cluster_authorise.dat

easiest is to also follow these steps on node2, but MAKE SURE your cluster id & password are the same. This forms your cluster.

Your done!

What is left as a task to realise futute redundancy is rename one of the [SYS0] to something unique.
Now at any furure time you can transfer the remaining [SYS0] to the system disk that does not hold it, or the renamed one the other way, and you have a cluster with two potential system disk. If you should require still more complexity....

But the basic are almost too simple (try showing that to a U*X admin!)

Success.

Proost.

Have one on me.

jpe
Don't rust yours pelled jacker to fine doll missed aches.
Volker Halle
Honored Contributor

Richard,